THE KELLERMAN FOUNDATION

FOR HISTORIC PRESERVATION

Current Exhibit

A Lasting Legacy: Jerome Bibb Legg in the City of Roses


Jerome Bibb Legg was born in Schuyler County, Illinois in 1838 or 1839. He came to St. Louis in 1864. His worked extended to at least twelve states and he maintained four out- of-state branches. He became the first editor of the Building Trades Journal and wrote the introductory section on architecture in Commercial and Architectural St. Louis.

Legg’s choice of projects reflects his well- rounded architectural skills and personal interest in helping communities grow, prosper, and establish a unique culture. His portfolio encompassed a variety of public buildings: banks, schools, hotels, colleges, and theaters, as well as hundreds of residences. His stance as a client- driven architect gave him the opportunity to design in a variety of architectural styles. Legg’s ability to master a variety of styles and still be known for his own aesthetic make him both significant and unique for his time. 


Southeast Missouri State University                Local Residences
Science Building- Carnahan Hall –1902                 Oliver- Leming House, 740 North Street – 1895
Academic Hall – 1906                                          Harrison House, at 313 Themis Street – 1897
Training School- Art Building –1902                      Mc Bride House, corner of Sprigg and North – 1906
Manual Training Hall- Serena –1905                     Louis B. Houck House, 936 College Hill – 1906 (razed)
Albert Hall - Dormitory –1904 (razed)
Leming Hall- Dormitory- 1905 (razed)

Court of Common Pleas (renovations and additions) – 1888
Sturdivant Bank Building, northwest corner of Main and Themis – 1892
Elks Club Building, 115 Themis Street – 1906 (razed)
The Daily Republican, 225 North Broadway – 1908 (razed)
Houck Train Depot, Rush H. Limbaugh Sr. Fed. Courthouse – 1905 (razed)